Posted in Parenting and Random Shit

Winning at Discipline

“Don’t do that again or I am going to take it away.”

“Did you hear me?  If you do that one more time, I am going to put it up.”

“This is the last time I am going to tell you NOT to do that or you are going to be in trouble.”

“I mean it this time.  You better stop.”

“I am not going to say it again.”

I will be the first to admit, being consistent with the kids has not been my strong point.  Since being pregnant, especially these last couple of months, my threats are nothing short of a ridiculous joke, as far as my children are concerned.  I might as well say, “If you do that 234 more times, I am going to raise my voice even louder to  make my empty threats”.  At least then I could cancel out my slacking with honesty.

Author:

I am a stay at home mother with 4 children. I drink a lot of wine and curse like a sailor.

4 thoughts on “Winning at Discipline

  1. GAH! I had to come to my terms with this lately, too. My skills as a disciplinarian have been trumped by my desire to sit on my ass. Sigh. Nice to know I am not alone.

    Like

  2. Oh. My. God. I have to go change the name of one of my last posts. /facepalm This is the first time I’ve seen the entry. I actually was digging through your archives to see what you had covered to make sure I wasn’t going to seem like a copycat. Mother fucking, fucker!

    Like

It puts the comment in the box.

